Head and Esk Valley Historical Society Inc.
Valley overlooking Fingal with the Mt Nicholas Range in the background."
In keeping with
the Constitution the object of the Society is:
collect and preserve information and/or items of historical value
within the defined area,
to promote and exhibit the history as a means of sharing the heritage
with the community. "
These aims are achieved
through identified projects, exhibitions, field trips and participation
in general community events.
Please feel free to brouse
through our website
1843 to 1846 the St Marys Pass was built with convict labour. In
anyone's language this was
achievement and one that is not nearly recognized enough in our
Our Society has extensively researched the Pass and have come with
over 600 names of convicts who worked on the
project in the initial construction. All the names are available
to view by contacting Society members on the phone numbers below.
The fascinating story of the Dalmayne Coal Mine, which saw
heaps of money and resources thrown at it back in 1917
for very little return, is now online
COAL MINE FIASCO
For more information on our Society feel free to phone:
David: 03 63722796
Local Historian Jim Haas talks to a group
of walkers from the
Launceston RamblersWalking Club
at an old mine shaft entrance at Cornwall
site was developed by
Greg Cruse & Jim Haas at the St Marys Online Access Centre,
Main St St Marys, Tasmania
Updated on 26.9.2017